Tried Out 4-LO Today ----- Ugly Sounds !

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

MacAttack

Reaction score
I went out to some dirt roads to practice activating the 4-WD since I've never used 4-WD before. 4-HI was no problem, but 4-LO sounds horrible. When I shift into it or out of it there is a terrible thumping sound that just doesn't sound healthy. Is this normal?

I slowed to 2-3mph, depressed the clutch and tried to pull back all the way to 4-LO in one smooth motion, but it sure sounds nasty. Is it supposed to make thumping noises? (Aeh)

(Also.....I got all screwed up and shifted it out of 4-LO while going over 10-mph....it really made a thump then. Do u think I damaged anything?) #-o

The only good thing is that no one was watching-------I would have been embarassed.

MacAttack

Reaction score
tjkj2002 said:
Was the ****** still in gear? If so that's your noise even though you had the clutch depressed.

Yes. The manual ****** was still in gear. The instructions said to just push down the clutch. Was I supposed to have it in neutral also?

Corwyyn

Full Access Member
Reaction score
MacAttack said:
tjkj2002 said:
Was the ****** still in gear? If so that's your noise even though you had the clutch depressed.

Yes. The manual ****** was still in gear. The instructions said to just push down the clutch. Was I supposed to have it in neutral also?
I believe so. The clutch only disengages the transmission from the engine, but if the gears in the ****** are still spinning then you could have problems engaging 4LO. try it again with the ****** in neutral and see if it helps...

MacAttack

Reaction score