First Thing's First: Skid Plates

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Jim McClain

Full Access Member
Reaction score
My first time out in my new (to me) 2005 KJ I bottomed out hard. I couldn't crawl under to check damage, but everything seems to work fine. I'd like to avoid potential serious damage though - and a dangerous condition for me, since I'm on o2 and it could be dangerous for me to become stranded. My research here on JeepKJ indicates the starting point for nearly all modifications is skid plates.

My primary use for this rig is to get me closer to pictures like below. I'm a wannabe landscape photographer. I'm prob'ly not going to join a 4x4 club or go rock climbing or play follow-the-leader through mud, sand, water and over fallen trees and cleaning the undercarriage with manzanita bushes. But I would like to easily traverse the many logging roads, some of which are pretty washed out, rutted and baring boulders on my way to finding my pictures. There are 4 distinct seasons here, including snow (lots of it in a good year) and I don't like being restricted.

You must be registered for see images

Where do I begin? Are there plates that cover more than one component? Which are the most critical? Can I get by with OEM 3/16" for everything, except maybe the gas tank? Is there a preferred online seller?

I'm gonna take the Jeep to my mechanic Monday to check for damage and to see if there are any skid plates already installed (I don't think it's a stock item, is it?). Guidance from any of you with experience in this area would be appreciated.

R'gards,

Jim

sota

Full Access Member
Reaction score