no lift but want bigger tires?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

coloradored

Full Access Member
Reaction score
well I'm new to the KJ's but not to jeeps, I just got my self a 04 kj and i just wanted to know what people have had good luck with in tire sizes with out lifting it. i know about the pinch weld so that will not be any problem. oh and i have the stock 16 steel wheels.

I think that the largest tires from the factory were the 235/70/16 but i don't really know that for a fact, and so i was hoping that the 235/85/16 would fit with that pinch weld flattened.

Thanks

jeepkj02

Full Access Member
Reaction score
The biggest you can fit is a 245/70 w/o any lift.

With a lift the biggest you can is a 265/75 (32") with the pinch weld pounded down.

tjkj2002

Full Access Member
Reaction score
The biggest you can fit is a 245/70 w/o any lift.

With a lift the biggest you can is a 265/75 (32") with the pinch weld pounded down.
235/85's or 265/75's will need alot more then pounding the pinchweld down and a lift(3"+ min lift).

But 245/70's is the largest you can go without a lift,and you may or may not still have rubbing issues,depends on the type of tires used.

coloradored

Full Access Member
Reaction score
thanks that helps,
does any one know about the speedometer being off after that (245/70/16) or will it be ok?

tjkj2002

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I've got 245/75/16's on Moabs on a pre-lowered with no lift. Slight rub, I will eventually pound down the pinch welds.
Yep you can get away with the 245/75's if you have a pre-lowered KJ which sits 3/4" higher then the lowered KJ's.I ran that size for awhile before my lift also,only rubbed on the foglamp doors at full lock in reverse.

coloradored

Full Access Member
Reaction score
does any one have a pix of there jeep with 245/70/16 with no lift that they can put up?