help with 4x4 engine code (P0836)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

reflection

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hi,
i am new to jeep and this forum
i have a jeep libery 2004 and yesterday i did a check engine diagnostic and it gives a code p0836
i searched google and find out that it means:

Symptom: P0836-4WD MUX SWITCH STUCK
When Monitored and Set Condition: P0836-4WD MUX SWITCH STUCK
When Monitored: When Transfer Case in 4WD Low.
Set Condition: Four wheel drive (4WD) muxed switch input detected below minimum or above maximum acceptable voltage.

POSSIBLE CAUSES
transfer case position sensor input circuit open
transfer case position sensor input circuit short to ground
transfer case position sensor input circuit short to voltage
transfer case position sensor input circuit short to sensor return circuit
transfer case position sensor
powertrain control module
intermittent operation

when i put my jeep in 4x4 mode there is no 4x4 light comes on at dashboard

so my questions are;
1- is my car works correctly when i use 4x4 but car does not realize it? (since its about sensor malfunction)
2-how can i test if my 4x4 works or not without going to the service?
3- where does this sensor located, and how can i find a replacement
4- i am using my jeep 2x4 nearly all the time (it is more economical :) ) do i need to change the sensor anyway?

any help would be appreciated

thanks

Caner.

dude1116

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Transfer case position sensor is faulty.

1) Jeep is using 4x4 correctly
2) Pull the lever up on a dirt road and mash on the accelerator without flying into a tree.
3) On top of the transfer case; Rock Auto or Stealership
4) No you don't need to change it. But I changed mine due to the fact that it was throwing a CEL, and I needed to get an inspection.