Blown engine need advice! 06 Liberty

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Slydog06

Reaction score
My beloved 2006 Jeep Liberty’s 3.7L V6 engine just bit the dust at 201k miles. Mechanic says full engine replacement needed. It guzzled all its oil (not due to leak), lost power while accelerating, and now has the dreaded knocking sound.

Car is in Durango, CO but it’s home is northern NM (Santa Fe). Trying to decide how to get it home and what to do next…
New tires last year, new ball joint last week, regular maintenance and overall really good condition for its age, only ongoing issue is small transfer case leak which I have been monitoring for a couple years, and some glitchy electrical/maybe fuses on dash and air controls.

Do people just scrap at this point or try and sell off parts? Not sure I can afford full engine replacement for $3500 plus labor ($1-3k?!) at the moment.
Any advice or input appreciated!

KJowner

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Scrap yard engine & a steady weekend to swap it over?

LibertyTC

Staff member
Reaction score
There are some tough decisions ahead, a 1300 mile haul home is long ways.
If you feel the Jeep is worth restoring, Jasper engines would be the way to go.
You would have a full warranty. Many members here have taken this direction.

Slydog06

Reaction score
There are some tough decisions ahead, a 1300 mile haul home is long ways.
If you feel the Jeep is worth restoring, Jasper engines would be the way to go.
You would have a full warranty. Many members here have taken this direction.
Thanks for the rec. It’s only about 250miles from home!

kjkotlar

If it ain't broke, take it apart to find out why.
Reaction score