Steering vibrates/shakes

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

LibertyTC

Staff member
Reaction score
Sound like inspection time from the front wheel bearing inwards & upwards and all front end.
When was the last time u had an alignment done?
Any play in ball joint, steering rack& bushing is a concern as well.

JeepOwner07

Full Access Member
Reaction score
actually have never had an alignment, I purchased her in september 2009 with 29,500 miles on her, since then i have only added another 32000. I don't drive her much as i drive a cab for a living.

Yes its only when coasting and driving, I just replaced the front pads and rotors last week, so there is no vibrating when braking. Tires are only 17 months old, with very little wear (as i dont drive much)

HoosierJeeper

Gold Supporter/Admin
Staff member
Administrator
Reaction score
I'd start with an alignment, that would also reveal any loose/worn parts.

Luke

Interloper
Reaction score
mis-alignment rarely causes shake ... worn steering components and tire balance are your first culprits.

tommudd

Staff member
Reaction score
Did it just start all of a sudden or did it start a while back and now getting worse?
Did it do it before you did the brakes?
Have you tried rotating the tires ?

You are a cab driver in Pittsburgh? Man that has to be interesting for sure

JeepOwner07

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Did it just start all of a sudden or did it start a while back and now getting worse?
Did it do it before you did the brakes?
Have you tried rotating the tires ?

You are a cab driver in Pittsburgh? Man that has to be interesting for sure