Hitch height?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

HerronScott

Full Access Member
Reaction score
OK, towing newbie here. I've brought cars home with towing dollies and borrowed trucks in the past and my parents had a trailer and a Jeep Scrambler that I borrowed a time or two, but we've never owned a vehicle ourselves that could tow. Is there a standard or recommended hitch height? And is that measured from the ground to the surface where the ball mounts?

Scott

sota

Full Access Member
Reaction score
as a general rule, you want the trailer to be level. so working from that point you'd want to spec a draw bar that keeps that height. now keep in mind that varies depending on load and capacity of the trailer, plus how much tongue weight you have (10% of your load is recommended usually.) finally you need to factor in suspension sag on your towing vehicle, which also varies based on your tongue weight.

if all of that has your head swimming, you can take the easy route: measure the height to the bottom of the towing coupler with the trailer level, subtract that distance from the height of the hitch pin hole on your vehicle to the ground, and find the closest draw bar that is LESS than that number. That should give you an unladen trailer that's tilted up at the nose, and close to level when loaded.

jeeplib05

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Before I was lifted, I used/still use a 2 1/4" drop hitch I believe
It made it sit level then and I'm sure it wouldn't look too bad now but I'd stick with around 2" drop depending on your hitch mount because some sit higher/lower

tommudd

Staff member
Reaction score
Need to know more about your rig and how high or low it is, then also what you are going to be towing and its hitch height to give a good answer.