A/C Compressor Starting and Stopping

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

mdmaroon

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I just bought a used 2002 Liberty and I'm just beginning to learn a little about it.

I've noticed that the air conditioning compressor starts and stops every few seconds. The HVAC control is set to defrost position. Heat control about half-way.

Is this normal? Maybe just a way of condensing moisture out of the air? (The cold A/C heat exchanger would do that).

LibertyTC

Staff member
Reaction score
Yes normal. It will cycle on and off in a process to remove interior moisture.
If moved two further to left or floor heat it will not engage, but you may see windows fog up again.

Last edited:

mdmaroon

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Cool, thanks for the quick reply. Now I just need to figure out how to set the clock on the radio. I can't figure it out! I guess I can google that...

LibertyTC

Staff member
Reaction score
Ya the Stock clock LOL!
I had to get the owners manual out and get my glasses on to see the two push button pen tip circles on radio face. (right side)

mdmaroon

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Yeah, I found how to set the clock with the help of Google. I just got this Liberty yesterday and I've just been going through it fixing a few minor issues.

1. Blower motor resistor. Fixed
2. Air Bag light stays on. Still working on this one.
3. Needs wheel alignment badly. Taking it in tomorrow...hope it goes okay. The components seem okay, nothing looks bent. The front wheels are angled out slightly when the vehicle is going straight. When making sharp turns, the outside wheel drags and hops along..not good! How the previous owner tolerated this I don't know. Maybe that's why they sold it!

It's a 2002 and I got it for $3500.

LibertyTC

Staff member
Reaction score