HELP HELP HELP! Engine almost stalling, low RPMS!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ahjjones

Full Access Member
Reaction score
This Jeep is a real pain sometimes! One problem after another!

At times the engine idles low. Some times it feels like its gonna stall out when I put it in park, and the RPM dropped real low last night when I was backing up into my drive way. A while back when I parked at a resturant it stalled out as soon as I put it in Park. Also, when starting it at times it smells like it was running rich or something. You can defiantly get a slight smell of gas. I'm not sure what it is.

Thanks for your help!

ahjjones

Full Access Member
Reaction score
CELS mean the codes it throws, correct? Sorry, I'm a bit of a newbie. It has two codes, but they're unrelated, and actually the light goes on and off at random intervals because of them. They refer to the transfer case sensor that needs to be replaced, and the radiator replay as well. Both getting done this weekend.

Atrus

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Has it been maintained? Good spark plugs, etc?

I really don't know what it could be - stalling could be a ton of different problems.

ahjjones

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I just got it about 6 months ago, but I've changed the plugs and oil.

LibertyTC

Staff member
Reaction score
The IAC controls rpm. They get seriously carboned up. Drivers side of Throttle body.
Remove it and give it a good cleaning and the port with throttle body cleaner spray and see if that is better, if not replace it.
Also spray out the throttle body, and check your air filter.
38677[/ATTACH]"]
You must be registered for see images attach

One - T-20 Torx bit on bottom (behind hose) remove it...
38679[/ATTACH]"]

38681[/ATTACH]"]

38683[/ATTACH]"]

Attachments

• IAC3.jpg
    IAC3.jpg
    123.1 KB · Views: 0
  • IAC5.jpg