rear dome light

Discussion in 'KJ General Discussion' started by Bennett, Dec 25, 2004.

  1. Bennett

    Bennett Active Member Administrator

    Messages:
    5,415
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Location:
    Green Bay
    So that the only thing that died, or did other stuff go out of commission before your BCM had to be reset.
     
  2. farwellbooth

    farwellbooth Full Access Member

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Nothing else died. The dome lights in the lcd monitor have 3 wires; power, ground, and door. The power wire only powers the lights and I wired this to an alternate power source, not the other dome lights. The door wire triggers the domes to go on and off of which I wired to the rear dome. I figured that door wire wouldn't really draw much current and the BCM would be fooled but it shut down all interior lighting. I freaked out but luckily after disconnecting the battery the lights came back.
     
  3. yoda13

    yoda13 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    nice job Bennett \:D/

    Turned out great, but that hole in the middle was kind of scary looking...
     
  4. grogiefrog

    grogiefrog Full Access Member

    Messages:
    3,411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Location:
    Near Indy
    Dittos! [-o<
     
  5. Dean46304

    Dean46304 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Overhead Light

    How deep was the light you installed? I have the one leftover from the EVIC addition. I'm not sure if it would be too deep to fit.

    Dean
     
  6. Bennett

    Bennett Active Member Administrator

    Messages:
    5,415
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Location:
    Green Bay
    Was probably only 2" deep.

    Well the light was still workin after today, so I think it's gonna be ok.

    If it'd of fried, I think it would have by now.

    Bennett
     
  7. Bennett

    Bennett Active Member Administrator

    Messages:
    5,415
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Location:
    Green Bay
  8. -=JoN=-

    -=JoN=- Member

    Messages:
    5,751
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    67°20'N 14°40'E
    thanks for the info...
     
  9. Bennett

    Bennett Active Member Administrator

    Messages:
    5,415
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Location:
    Green Bay
    I am happy to report after 4 days, still no problems with the body control module.

    Bennett
     
  10. BluPhant

    BluPhant Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,148
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Location:
    Connecticut
    What else do you have on the interior light circuit? Do you have the under-dash lights?

    -Blu
     
  11. -=JoN=-

    -=JoN=- Member

    Messages:
    5,751
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    67°20'N 14°40'E
  12. Bennett

    Bennett Active Member Administrator

    Messages:
    5,415
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Location:
    Green Bay
    Good deal. =D>


    Yeah, I already had the under-dash lights from the factory.

    Only thing I added was this single light. So all in all I have 6 interior lights.

    Bennett
     
  13. yoda13

    yoda13 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    Bennett,

    I don't think that your ratio of interior to exterior lights is high enough \:D/
     
  14. -=JoN=-

    -=JoN=- Member

    Messages:
    5,751
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    67°20'N 14°40'E
    1:2 ratio.....he'd need 6 more....i wonder if u can hook up 2 bcm's side by side.....LOL
     
  15. yoda13

    yoda13 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    I think that he needs to try \:D/
     
  16. -=JoN=-

    -=JoN=- Member

    Messages:
    5,751
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    67°20'N 14°40'E
    yeh he should, since he'll have 2 bcm's that means he can add more lights.... \:D/ and whatever else he see's fit....LOL....2 EVIC's? for passengers in the back...LOL
     
  17. Bennett

    Bennett Active Member Administrator

    Messages:
    5,415
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Location:
    Green Bay
    If I can hook up a relay to the bcm, I can add as many lights as my heart desires. 8-[
     
  18. yoda13

    yoda13 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    8-[ Green Bay is going to pass a dark skies ordinance just because of you \:D/
     
  19. Bennett

    Bennett Active Member Administrator

    Messages:
    5,415
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Location:
    Green Bay
    As an update my BCM is working just fine. The light hasn't caused any problems what so ever. So I would think it is safe to say that it didn't overload anything.

    Bennett
     
  20. BluPhant

    BluPhant Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,148
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Dangit, now I gotta buy SiLveRLiB2k2's unused light.

    Thanks for the update! I hope my results are as good as yours. Look for some questions in the near future.

    -Blu