Oil filter issue at Valvoline IOC

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

guitarzan

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Since the temp and humidity are racing to see which gets to 100 first I decided to take my KJ in to Valvoline Instant Oil Change to get the oil changed instead of doing it myself. While I was sitting there watching the "show" I noticed they were putting on an oil filter that was quite a bit shorter and smaller in diameter. I asked the guy what was up and he replied, "We're consolidating filters" :freak3: My response was that until Jeep put out a bulletin that the oil filter dimensions were changing then I expect the factory type filter to go on my Jeep. Basically he explained I was SOL.

Anyone else had this experience? Am I right about this or is there two size filters that will work on here? I'm not good with less filtering, especially in this extreme heat we're having.

yellocoyote

Administrator
Reaction score
I would certainly take it elsewhere if you're intent on not doing it yourself. eek2.gif

tjkj2002

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I know jiffy lube and and now valvoline are using the smallest filter that fits,thus putting in less oil which saves them money while charging you the same price.I know Firestone does not do this but I have seen they short the oil fill by 1/4-1/2 qts sometimes but been doing this along time and still put in the correct known amount of oil regardless of what the computer says.One off the top of my mind is the DOHC Ford V6's,they take 6qts of oil but our computer states to put 5.5qts in,I still put 6qts in which is at the full mark.

Dave

Administrator
KJ Supporting Member
KK Supporting Member
Reaction score