Low Idle Then Stall

Discussion in 'KJ General Discussion' started by J33Pfan, May 3, 2019.

  1. J33Pfan

    J33Pfan Full Access Member

    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Location:
    NY
    02 4WD V6 Unlimited 160k Miles

    I'm so glad I fixed my High Idle problems!!! Now I have a Low idle problem.

    The High idle problem was resolved by replacing both bank 2 O2 sensors and replacing the cracked Passenger PVC hose to the rear of the engine. I also cleaned the IAC unit.

    Now I have a Low idle problem. Stalls out at the light or in park sometimes. No error codes at all!

    Where should I start??
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2019
  2. LibertyTC

    LibertyTC Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    6,036
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    B.C. Canada
    Engine light On? Any stored codes ?
    The IAC controls idle, did this problem immediately happen after cleaning the IAC?
     
  3. J33Pfan

    J33Pfan Full Access Member

    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Location:
    NY
    No to the IAC. No engine light or error codes at all. Occasional the idle dropped ten stalled before I did anything. It was hard to tell with the idle going up to 2000 RPMs at times.

    When I replaced the cracked PCV hose the idle dropped to a normal level. Few days later after warm up, it started to go low then lower and stall if you dont tickle the throttle.
     
  4. LibertyTC

    LibertyTC Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    6,036
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    B.C. Canada
    ltd02 likes this.
  5. J33Pfan

    J33Pfan Full Access Member

    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Location:
    NY
    Ok Thanks! I'll work on those tips and post results.
     
  6. J33Pfan

    J33Pfan Full Access Member

    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Location:
    NY
    Great News! I changed the old Mopar IAC with a new Mopar IAC. No more stalling for over 10 days.
    I did try a 3rd party lower cost IAC but the O-ring was too big. It didn't install right and gave me lots of codes. I had to pull it out right away and use a new Mopar IAC.

    After installation, I disconnected the battery for 30 secs. Took it for a 20 min drive on the highway.
    It started up & ran fine, no problems.

    Thanks for your help!
     
    LibertyTC and ltd02 like this.
  7. LibertyTC

    LibertyTC Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    6,036
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    B.C. Canada
    Great to hear the Jeep is happy again with the new Mopar IAC !
    Glad I could help, that is what we are here for....Cheers! :)
     
    J33Pfan likes this.