Idle Air Control -No Screws?

LibertyTC

Well-Known Member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
8,703
Reaction score
1,290
Location
B.C. Canada
Well not what the Haynes manual shows: MY 04 is a little different.:p
No Screws- Special tool needed to remove it?:confused:
Photo IAC 1:
33191[/ATTACH]"]
You must be registered for see images attach

Looks like a split case to unscrew Photo2:
33193[/ATTACH]"]
You must be registered for see images attach

What's with this wiring?
The red tab get pushed back and that allows that bottom wiring to come off .
33195[/ATTACH]"]
You must be registered for see images attach

Thanks in advance.
 

Attachments

  • Pa9q34K.jpg
    Pa9q34K.jpg
    201 KB · Views: 1
  • 0RSdR7I.jpg
    0RSdR7I.jpg
    168.7 KB · Views: 1
  • 1mHXrx5.jpg
    1mHXrx5.jpg
    188.6 KB · Views: 2
Last edited:

LibertyTC

Well-Known Member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
8,703
Reaction score
1,290
Location
B.C. Canada
Want to clean the ports/ IAC Replace if cleaning does not work. The standard units shown in the Haynes manual have a simple two screw base for removal, so how does this one come apart?
Note as Canadian Export unit (Possibly Canadian Emissions) may have created this unusual IAC. Would the FSM have anything to add here?
Does this look different than what you have? Maybe it is bolted, but I sure can not see where with out a dental mirror. It looks moulded into the throttle body.
Going to have to get Ryan to look at his as it also is an 04 Canadian and see if his is the two screw unit or the same as mine.
 
Last edited:

kb0nly

Full Access Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2009
Messages
2,165
Reaction score
4
Location
Planet Earth
I think your right and that it screws out... I don't see anything in the FSM that i have except for the one thats bolted to the throttle body, so thats different for sure!

As for the wiring connector you slide the red retainer back and then the connector will unlatch.
 

LibertyTC

Well-Known Member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
8,703
Reaction score
1,290
Location
B.C. Canada
Thanks to Richd, some info was given that appears to indicate this IAC from NAPA.
I am going to have to feel around or get a dental mirror below the IAC to see the ONE bolt it probably has. My current guess without looking is the bolt is on the bottom right. It has two o-rings for sealing, indicating it pulls straight out. So no unscrewing this unusual IAC, it is also a completely aluminum enclosed body on this IAC.
Here is the photo from Napa made by UNI # 216767
http://partimages2.genpt.com/partimages/838110.jpg
I am on the road to removal and cleaning soon, as long as I can find bolt and get the right set up for tool to fit in there, really tight location probably. Ratchet, angled, tool my guess.
Hard to believe in this situation the FSM is adamant regarding two bolts on the IAC.
 
Last edited:

kb0nly

Full Access Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2009
Messages
2,165
Reaction score
4
Location
Planet Earth
Hmm interesting... Yep it looks like the bolt is down on the bottom right when oriented like in your pictures.

I figured it would screw out if a special tool was needed. The FSM i have only seems to show the other style with two screws, and thats what mine has on it.
 

LibertyTC

Well-Known Member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
8,703
Reaction score
1,290
Location
B.C. Canada
I just got back from a very stressful work shift. Ahh.. the peace and quiet of ratchet and Torx bits in hands, as massage therapy.
Lets just hope after spraying blaster at that singular torx bit, located at the very bottom of the IAC, hidden very well behind a hose, that I can massage it loose. Going to have to use a 1/4 socket wrench with torx bit I am sure of it. A hair dyer will assist in heating that hose to safely loosen & remove it out of the way. Suddenly I think I like your 2 screw set up better. Let the fun begin in the removal and cleaning process of the IAC port and plunger. More to follow hopefully with a few photos for everyone else to enjoy!
The big question is after cleaning, does this fix the varying idle, when stopping and also when giving it a few revs (Neutral/PArk) after it is warmed up, as it is suppose to stay at the 575 rpm idle, without surge ups to 900rpm? The Saga to follow, but hopefully not continue.
 
Last edited:

LibertyTC

Well-Known Member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
8,703
Reaction score
1,290
Location
B.C. Canada
Easy test for the IAC................

At idle(warmed up) crank the steering wheel either direction,if the RPM's raise it's working like it's supposed to.

Thanks For That info....But....mine drops about 40 rpm and no bounce up at all:(
Can others PLEASE check their kj and see if their's go up after tuning the wheel? Not that I do not trust this info but have never noticed mine ever go up after tuning the wheel.
Maybe all our IAC are crapola like mine after 36,000 miles.
 

LibertyTC

Well-Known Member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
8,703
Reaction score
1,290
Location
B.C. Canada
IAC Cleaning completed.
Seems to have helped. It was dirty/carbon everywhere at 36k miles. Seems to hold idle now, but only time will tell if this is truly fixed.

Photo:4 Shows why I could not see a torx screw..
33220[/ATTACH]"]
You must be registered for see images attach


Photo:5 With Hose Removed can access Screw:
33222[/ATTACH]"]
You must be registered for see images attach


Photo:6 Shows Carbon inside the IAC
33224[/ATTACH]"]
You must be registered for see images attach


Photo:7 Carb Cleaner to inside at IAC body ports & housing.
33226[/ATTACH]"]
You must be registered for see images attach


Photo:8 What housing should look like after cleaning:
33228[/ATTACH]"]
You must be registered for see images attach

Photo:9 "Q-TIPS" and The IAC Plunger
33230[/ATTACH]"]
You must be registered for see images attach


Photo:10 IAC Clean and Ready for Installation
33232[/ATTACH]"]
You must be registered for see images attach


Well that fit's under the category of "what I did to the jeep"... after work today.
 

Attachments

  • AW8mVev.jpg
    AW8mVev.jpg
    419.6 KB · Views: 1
  • YmhWu4a.jpg
    YmhWu4a.jpg
    184.8 KB · Views: 1
  • nDEWT7a.jpg
    nDEWT7a.jpg
    150.2 KB · Views: 1
  • LrsBVVC.jpg
    LrsBVVC.jpg
    154.3 KB · Views: 1
  • CTavaXn.jpg
    CTavaXn.jpg
    146.2 KB · Views: 1
  • HTRIPQJ.jpg
    HTRIPQJ.jpg
    183.3 KB · Views: 1
  • TIKGKUe.jpg
    TIKGKUe.jpg
    142.6 KB · Views: 1
Last edited:

autoboy454

Full Access Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2009
Messages
189
Reaction score
1
Location
MASS
i am totally going to clean my IAC this afternoon, you have inspired me! Also gunna pull my MAP as I i think that may be gunked up also...
 

LibertyTC

Well-Known Member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
8,703
Reaction score
1,290
Location
B.C. Canada
Re-The IAC, I was able to move the plunger easily downward with a Q-Tip, so I think there should be more resistance, Just PM'd TJ to see if that should be tough to press down. I see a new IAC installed in the near future.
DO not forget to clean the PCV , make sure it has suction while running, and it rattles freely or replace it too.
My interior throttle body collects carbon, it needs to get sprayed out every once in a while too.
Damn gas by-products leaves stuff plugged eventually !!
"That carbon has to go" ....for things to run more efficiently.
I am sure "YOU" and your KJ will feel better after that carbon is gone!
 
Last edited:

LibertyTC

Well-Known Member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
8,703
Reaction score
1,290
Location
B.C. Canada
Let your carbon be gone ...
 
Last edited:

LibertyTC

Well-Known Member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
8,703
Reaction score
1,290
Location
B.C. Canada
After 5 years, I want to see some photos! I bet it is going to be carbon city!
My original post was in 2010!! Where did the years go?
 
Last edited:

LibertyTC

Well-Known Member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
8,703
Reaction score
1,290
Location
B.C. Canada
Tim,
Did have an updated thread for this?
don't remember.
Cant remember, But I don't think we have an IAC post in the how to section.
I guess one of us should make one eh?

Yours or mine?

Would like to see some pics of what your ports & Iac looks like, after so many years of not cleaning! :icon_lol:
 

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top