Jeep not starting....HELP!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Zero

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

First off this is my first time here so I am not sure I am in the right area for this post but here it goes.....

I have a 2005 Jeep Liberty Sport 3.7 6 Speed

So about a month ago I started my jeep one morning and I heard a loud knocking then immediately went away but while driving it would shudder and my mechanic ran his scanner and I was getting a cylinder miss fire, he checked coil packs and they were good so he said it is a rocker arm issue.

Well being a new jeep lover I wanted to fix it myself, so I removed the valve cover and found out all my lash adjusters were stuck, they would not compress. So I took them all out and cleaned them and were like new, after putting everything back together again I went to start it and when I did the jeep shook so bad it was insane, when I would rev it tho it would be fine, so I was told to check all my air hoses, which were fine too. Then was told it could be my tbs, maf or IAT, replaced those and nothing, so I checked the IAC valve and it was nasty dirty. So I went to auto zone and they said try a new one or clean the one I had with carb cleaner, and to clean inside the throttle body as well to get all the gunk out. Well after doing that the jeep would crank but NOT START! So I just got a new IAC today figuring that was the problem and well nope, it was not! :(

After some research I remember a few months back that once in a while when I would start my jeep it would start but idle rough and then stall, but then would start again...so I checked the camshaft sensor and put a good one in and still nothing, so all I have left for ideas is a possible bad crankshaft sensor?