Changing diff ratio on 3.7L Liberty 2002 model

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

African Child

Reaction score
Need some help here? I would like to get my RPM a bit higher in top gear. It seems my Jeep got a 3.73 ratio. If I understand correctly a 4.10 ratio would increase the RPM? If this is correct, would the 4.10 gears from the 2.4L fit?

profdlp

Counting My Blessings
Staff member
Reaction score
Lots of people here have used the 4.10 from the 2.4L. I'm not an expert, but I'd bet someone who has "been there, done that" will be along to give you some step-by-step advice.

(welcome)

TwoBobsKJ

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Yep, TomMudd has it figured out so it's pretty easy. He and I swapped in the front differential and rear axle from a 2.4L 4 cylinder into mine so I now have 4.10's. Given the tire size I moved up to my RPM's are basically back to stock.

Bob

Last edited:

tommudd

Staff member
Reaction score
Need some help here? I would like to get my RPM a bit higher in top gear. It seems my Jeep got a 3.73 ratio. If I understand correctly a 4.10 ratio would increase the RPM? If this is correct, would the 4.10 gears from the 2.4L fit?

Are you running larger tires? Lifted?
If so then yes going to 4.10s works great for sure , even when going to a tire an inch to one and a half inch taller

African Child

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply! This is wonderful news, so just to clarify before I run off to the local scrap yard, the internals of a 2.4L will fit straight in my 3.7L differentials? It will make life so much easier on my next trip to the Kalahari with a better ratio.

tommudd

Staff member
Reaction score