Budget build, i need advise

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

JustinJackson

Reaction score
Hey guys, I have a 2004 Renegade edition KJ and I want to start upgrading it. Right now it is mostly stock.. I have money put aside for tires and I'm wanting to use the stock rims but I want to go bigger and get a bit of height...any suggestions? Do I lift it? If so what lift? Do I buy spacers? What size? What size tires do I go with? I am VERY new to building a 4x4 so please bear with me lol thanks in advance guys!

PS: I'm on a fairly tight budget so nothing toooooo expensive please

Last edited:

jeeplib05

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Welcome

Checkout the lift section and you can learn all about this stuff
Price is all depending on what you want out of your KJ because the higher you go, the ride quality you want and also if you want adjustability will all play factors into how much you'll be spending

Zero spacer lifts, only suspension and to give you an idea, I had to go up to 3.25" of lift to run 31s and it's still pretty close to rubbing
These things aren't like Wranglers where you can throw on 33s with no lift, they need a lot more time and money to achieve that kind of stuff

Best budget suspension lift will run you about $900 or so (OME/Bilstein), but your best bet here is to READ like you've never read before and you'll learn everything you need to know.. like "What in the hell is OME?"
That answer and much more will be explained in detail

Enjoy!

sparky123321

Full Access Member
Reaction score