A few minor mechanical problems..

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Midgear

Reaction score
Greetings folks, noob here.. just joined the forum, and I should probly search for the answers but I like direct input from the community-

That being said- I seem to have a few problems with the Jeep.

I notice after wheeling for a while, it likes to get stuck in 4HI.. and the only remedy I've found so far is to either put it down into 2wd while im rolling forward very slowly in neutral, and then put it into reverse and give the tires a bit of a spin. sometimes that doesn't work. One day of wheeling, I didnt even realize it wasn't out of 4wd (lever in 2, but the T-case still in 4) and I crawled up off the trail onto the road, started to accelerate, and I heard and felt this hideous bang.. so something tells me that was it lurching out of 4wd to 2wd. But 4wd still works, so nothin broke I assume.

I was out wheeling the other day, and after a couple donuts in 2wd on top of a soft sand / dirt mixture, I put it into 4HI and start to explore some other places I haven't been to yet, I crawled over a rather large incline and I started to hear this really loud metal to metal griding sound.. and it sounded like it was either coming from the front drive shaft, or the transfer case itself.. It got so bad at one point that while idling forward in 2wd, it would actually slow and stop the Jeep.. but it quit as soon as I got on the road and got to about 35 MPH, and I haven't heard anything since then.. I haven't wheeled since then out of fear of snapping something apart lol..

I think what I need to do is check the transfer case fluid..

problem #2 ---