Starting problem, not starter or battery, what next?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

TikiX

Reaction score
New here, I’m trying to help a friend with her 2002 Liberty, 2wd, auto, 3.7.
It has been doing the one-click when she goes to start it for a couple weeks I guess. First it would start on the second try, then the third or fourth. But sometimes first try it would start.
Now it won’t start. I figured starter or battery for sure. Battery tests 12.5 volts. Starter tests good, at two different parts stores. Looks like factory starter, btw.
I’m not a mechanic, but I have a little knowledge and skill in doing basic repairs etc.
What’s the next thing to look at. Do these Libertys have any common failures in this issue, like ignition switch, or battery cables, or...? Kinda don’t know where to look next. She doesn’t have the money to just throw parts at it hoping it’s this or that.
Looking for some knowledge to help solve this
Thanks in advance.

LibertyTC

Staff member
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum.

Are all the terminals free from corrosion & tight?
Removing the terminals & ensuring a clean connection/ wire bush or sandpaper may help.

I'd also want to know if the Jeep's battery is strong enough & can pass a load test. How old is this battery any idea?
It's fairly easy to take the battery out and get it tested at any battery store. (best idea)
If battery fails load test consider an AGM (absorb glass matt) battery winch is longer lasting/more powerful.

Other Options:
If you have an automatic battery charger, plug Jeep battery in overnight, and see if it starts ok then.

Automotive jumper cables can also be used to find out if it's just a weak battery issue as well.

The vehicle with the good battery, attach the positive and negative cables, while the opposite ends remain separated.