Rusty's 2.5" coil lift. Urgent!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

sgoat

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I just bought the Rusty's kit and was wondering what stock components may get re-used. Reason I ask is that I went to a local 4WD shop to get them installed, they told me they wouldn't work. Bear with me here as I'm new to all this and don't know the correct terminology. The "strut collars" that fit inside the front coils have alot of play side to side. The guy from the shop told me the collars should fit without play. Makes sense to me. He then wondered if maybe they use some piece from the stock unit that takes up the play between the spring and the collar. Are the Rusty's coils the same I.D. as the stock Springs? If so, might they use the stock (why would they give me new ones) collars? I'm scheduled to have my kit installed at another shop tomorrow a.m., and don't want to get that "call" half way thru the install telling me the kit won't fit. Any help you can give me (ASAP) would be appreciated. Thanks!

K Dje Ryu

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Just finished installing mine yesterday. Yes, you will need to disassemble your stock struts. The pieces you need are the rubber spacers at each end of the springs, the top plate, and the washer that holds top plate to the strut shaft. You can see the pieces that are old in these pics...

You must be registered for see images attach

You must be registered for see images attach

I'd be a bit worried about a mechanic that can't figure it out. I did and I have minimal auto mechanics exp.

sgoat

Full Access Member
Reaction score
tjkj2002 said:
Got pics? many poeple have had(or done themselfs) this lift installed with no problems.I'd have to see what you are talking about then I can give more help.