Replacing suspension... RS9000XL and ???

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

BackRoad

Reaction score
Lately been noticing some odd noises going over speedbumps in the jeep at low speed. Sounds like it may be the shocks, but that's just a guess. Thinking I should probably replace the springs/shocks since I bought the jeep at 103k and I've put 10k miles on it and I think it's stock at the moment.

I'm a college student so money's tight. :blah: My brother does auto at school and tells me he can install it if I buy it.

Right now, I'm looking at RS9000XLs for the front (RS999284) $75/ea, and RS999764 ($113/ea) for the rear from Advance. I can get moog springs for the front ($45) and rear (also $45). So that puts me at around $470.

Is this a good setup for the price, or should I consider something else? I was thinking I might be able to get the shocks at Advance and pick up springs elsewhere to get a lifted setup.

What else should I order to get this thing installed?

Josh

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First, make sure it is a shock. Dry end link (swaybar) bushings are notorious for making the noise you describe. Some say silicone say is the best but other say soap and water is better.

Second, The reality is if you have more than 40k on your stock springs they are worn out. If you want to improve your ride and get some springs that will last a long time and/or want some lift you need a spring with a higher spring rate. You have 2 choices

1. Old Man Emu (you should have read this before posting anyway):
http://www.jeepkj.com/forum/f203/lift-faq-read-before-asking-questions-47137/

2. Iron Man
http://www.jeepkj.com/forum/f203/ironman-lift-pics-added-pg-2-5-a-51647/
http://www.jeepkj.com/forum/f203/ironman-lift-install-comments-m-g-52398/

Last edited:

NJallDAY

Full Access Member
Reaction score