Question for you Insurance Experts

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

brucebotti

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have an off topic question for you guys. What value does an insurance company use to determine the value of your vehicle.....NADA....Kelly Blue Book? Also, if they use one of those, do they go by trade-in value, private party value, retail (dealer)? The reason I am asking is that I'm thinking of dropping the collision on my wife's 2001 300M to save some dough.
Thanks,
Bruce

kb0nly

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I know when i discussed this with State Farm they gave me a couple options... One is standard which uses an average between NADA and KBB values based on zip code, and that data gets based off average sale prices reported. Kinda like how they review comparables when pricing real estate. I was told Trade-In Value is most commonly used and its also the lowest of the three, but it depends on your coverage, they could also use retail.

The problem is this takes the value of the vehicle at the time of the damage. So if you bought it new and then get totalled at say 50k then your only going to get replacement value for what you lost. Unless you get New Car Replacement coverage, which basically insures your vehicle for the cost of a new replacement rather than just buying something similar to what you lost. Costs a lot more though because your paying for new car insurance the whole time you own it...

I went with standard coverage...

Robsama

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'll chime in since I actually work at an insurance company.

Most companies use NADA to figure vehicle cost (Retail) since it is more accurate. Stealerships and body shops like to use KBB since their prices are usually inflated and doesn't take into consideration as much detail as NADA does (mileage, option packages, etc...).