Need help with rusted brake and fuel lines

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ridgek

Reaction score
Hi friends,

First post here. My apologies if this has been covered already, but I couldn’t find any topics like it in the forums.

I’ve got an 07 Liberty 4WD Sport and recently had a caliper fail due to the rear passenger hardline rusting through. I've since replaced that caliper and section of brake line with the pre-bent/pre-flanged OEM part, but while tracing the brake lines, noticed that I've got a lot of corrosion further up the brake and fuel lines. It probably won't be long before some more parts fail and I’m nervous going into the winter with it like this.

I’m an amateur mechanic out of financial necessity, so I’m not sure how to proceed and could use some advice. My previous experience is limited to oil changes, brakes/rotors/calipers, and thanks to this forum, replacing the front driveshaft due to a bad rear CV joint.

Here’s the damage:

https://i.imgur.com/Nvnz3kB.jpg

This block connects the main brake line to a hose which runs to another block on the rear axle (which also has the axle vent hose running vertically through it), where it attaches to the rear passenger line that I just replaced.

I've identified the blocks and hose as 52129260AB; this part doesn't seem to hard to put in, but the fitting on the main brake line running from the engine bay looks to be so deteriorated, I probably won’t be able to get it out of the block and would have to cut the line.

https://i.imgur.com/6VVqexy.jpg

I also noticed that one of the fuel lines is close to rotting through.