Jeep geared too high with 245/75's

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

stratusfear02

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm just starting to get into jeeps.. I have owned my 02 Liberty for 3 months now, and have installed a 2.5" suspension lift, and 245/75/16 mud terrains. The jeep is great except, it seems to be geared way too high with the bigger tires. I keep finding myself having to shift down to 3rd gear going up hills, and having to hold it wide open merging on the highway, unless I want to get run over. What are my options (if any) for lowering the gear ratio? I know the 4cyl is no powerhouse, but jeez. I'm still kind of new to this.. Thanks

2002 Jeep Liberty
2.4 4 ******
5 Speed Standard
4x4

TwoBobsKJ

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm just starting to get into jeeps.. I have owned my 02 Liberty for 3 months now, and have installed a 2.5" suspension lift, and 245/75/16 mud terrains. The jeep is great except, it seems to be geared way too high with the bigger tires. I keep finding myself having to shift down to 3rd gear going up hills, and having to hold it wide open merging on the highway, unless I want to get run over. What are my options (if any) for lowering the gear ratio? I know the 4cyl is no powerhouse, but jeez. I'm still kind of new to this.. Thanks

2002 Jeep Liberty
2.4 4 ******
5 Speed Standard
4x4

(welcome)

EDIT:

OK, I'm a bonehead. I didn't read your post thoroughly when I wrote this originally to see that you have a 4 cylinder - and so you have 4.10's already. Basically it ain't gonna get any better unless you spend A LOT of money on a new front diff case as noted below. Might as well get a 6 cylinder KJ if you're gonna go that route.

Yeppir, running 245/75's puts the Liberty right on the edge of annoyingly underpowered.