I am in the club now...

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

moparman

Full Access Member
Reaction score
My left rear window regulator just blew out today. I have already pulled the panel and inspected it. I can pull or push the window up and down with my hand. Window is in track, motor turns, nothing happens so it must have blown a cable or gear. I just did a search and I can see the problem is quite common. As a former mechanic, I never wanted power windows and have avoided them until this vehicle. My question is, if I go to the dealer, will the regulator be any better than the one that is coming out? Or should I go elsewhere?

moparman

Full Access Member
Reaction score
If you are under warranty go to the dealer. If not I doubt anyone else makes one other than Mopar. At least not yet. Oh and welcome to the club.

Thanks, I nearly fell out of my chair when I did a search at this site and found out how frequent the problem was... Some had multiple failures. I find it really annoying at this moment but I don't want to get down about my Jeep. It otherwise has been nearly flawless. Yeah, I got the clicking in the steering wheel but Mopars have been doing that for years anyway. My 02 Neon does it too and I have never fixed it. I replaced many a steering column bearing in the late '70's working at a Chrysler/Plymouth/Dodge dealer. I started turning wrenches for money when I was 15, that was in '72. The last time was in '94 or so. So if the warranty covers it, I am at the dealer, if not I am buying the part.

kj924

Administrator
Reaction score
Did you happen to notice when the regulator broke? In the cold weather-ice covered windows? I know the drivers(since its the only one I open in the winter)ices and freezes very easily. I had to be careful with opening window in the -5 C and below days.