Its time I introduced myself.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Bunnyfoofoo

Reaction score
Hi,

I have lurked these forums for the past couple of years but never posted. I guess its time I introduced myself. I bought my 04 Jeep Liberty back in 2021. It was love at first test drive. Unfortunately, I had no idea all of the work she needed. I ended up having some health issues that prevented me from leaving the house much for the first year and half of ownership so she didn't get driven a lot. But I have been driving her regularly for that past 9 months and I just love her more everyday. She's got everything a girl could ever want in a car. Tuns of get up and go and room in the back for all my shoes. (Kidding! I mean craft supplies :)) Anyway, that is what brings me to you fine folks. For the past few months I have been struggling to get a situation resolved. In October I started experiencing shuddering in the back that felt like I was almost driving over one of those rumble strips on the highway whenever I accelerated to about 45 mph. I have taken it 3 different shops and none of them seem to be able to figure out what is wrong with her. After I left her sitting for a few weeks because I was afraid that by driving her I would be causing more wear and tear on the transmission, I did some more research. I believe the ujoints need to be replaced in my rear drive shaft. But I can't get any shop to take care of this for love nor money, and its driving me crazy! (No pun intended) I was able to get a shop to replace the front drive shaft, but as I was looking for places to buy a new rear drive shaft I realized they had put a different kind in than what was originally in my car. The first photo (the one with the dust boot) is what was originally on my car and the second is the replacement. Does anyone know if replacing one with the other