HEADERS & CATBACK Increase or Decrease GAS MILEAGE...???

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

nemss1

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I've noticed that a lot of mods like CAI or underdrive pullies actually decrease gas mileage because of the engine computer making adjustments.

Will the computer make any adjustments with headers & catback to decrease gas mileage?

Luke

Interloper
Reaction score
That's how I understand it ... but I'm just an old newb. :) You'll get the straight dope soon I think.

Cheers,

Atrus

Full Access Member
Reaction score
My experience says that I think overall you'd see an increase IF you can keep your foot out of it.

Here's the deal - $1,000 in exhaust upgrades isn't going to pay for itself in increased fuel economy.

Not to mention, there's a reason you want the extra power, so you'll use it, which will most likely decrease economy.

If you want more power, then so be it, but don't do what I used to and try to justify it with better economy. Because of the above mentioned factors, it doesn't make sense to do the mod for the sake of economy.

jnaut

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Here's the deal - $1,000 in exhaust upgrades isn't going to pay for itself in increased fuel economy.

$1000 worth of anything will take forever to recover with increased fuel economy. You'd have to dramatically increase fuel economy to recover $1000 in any reasonable time. And by dramatically, I mean double.

I drive around 15k miles a year. At 17mpg (and let's face it, I'm being generous) I'm spending around $2200 a year in gas. If I double that mileage to 34mpg that's $1100 and some change at current gas prices. Meaning it would take me 1 year to recover my investment.