Fuel filter in 2004 jeep liberty HELP PLEASE!!!!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

DCRAIG61611

Reaction score
Ok so after reading through many threads on here, and watching YT videos. I purchased a fuel filter from auto zone. The "external fuel filter that is held on by a 10mm bolt." And I am telling you guys... I have removed the floor panel. Disconnected all lines. Dropped the fuel tank. Pulled the sending unit. Inspected the fuel pump. THIS FILTER IS NOWHERE TO BE FOUND!?!? I am not a mechanic amateur. Admittedly I am pretty new to jeeps. But I have changed many fuel filters... and never have I ever had this much trouble locating one. I see some posts that say it's inside the fuel pump. Immediately followed by posts claiming that is wrong. It's external. So which is it? Because I'm telling you. I have a 2004 Jeep liberty 3.7L 4X4 and it does not have this external fuel filter... can somebody please help me out here? I just want my jeep to run right again...

ikuo78

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I don't know if that's what you bought, but
Number 14.

You must be registered for see images attach

DCRAIG61611

Reaction score
Ya its definitely number 14, as per that diagram. But it's the craziest thing. It's like it's just not there. The number 15 is there (leak detection pump). And almost everything else looks normal as per that diagram. But no filter! I can take a few photos this evening to help you see what I am talking about.

DCRAIG61611

Reaction score