Considering buying a Liberty

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

a4dp

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey all, I'm a noob here. I'm thinking about selling my A4 and getting a Liberty. I was just curious what I should look for in my search. I really like the renegade package and I'll probably be looking at the '04-'06 year range. The turbo diesel is tempting coming from a turbo 4 cyl. car, but I guess that isn't an option with the renegade package. I'm also curious about performance. I'm sure there is good aftermarket support being that it is a Jeep. What are some good performance websites?

How easy are Liberties to work on? My A4 is an absolute pain to work on. (silly german engineering and their lug bolts ;))

Anyway, any info is appreciated.

edit: I just noticed the [START HERE] so that'll probably answer most or all of my questions.

Here are some pics/specs on my car (not that you all care, I just figured I'd show where I was coming from):

1999.5 Audi A4 1.8T quattro
5spd
127k miles

Engine:
APR 1.0 bar chip
APR 2.5" turbo-back exhaust
2.5" test pipe

Suspension:
Stasis Engineering coilovers (600 lb front, 700 lb rear spring rates)
neuspeed 19mm rear sway bar
CPP end-links
AWE Tuning drivetrain stabilizer

Brakes:
A8 front brake upgrade
mintex pads

Interior:
UUC short shifter
Greddy turbo timer

You must be registered for see images

You must be registered for see images

Last edited:

sevenhelmet

Full Access Member
Reaction score
The car I worked on to learn how to work on cars was a 1985 Audi 5000s. I can tell you that the Liberty is MUCH EASIER to work on.

I'd recommend the CRD over the Renegade trim package, but it's all about preference.

Marlon_JB2

Kombat Edition Jeep
Reaction score
Nah, reason they cancelled it was due to stricter emissions laws in the US.