CD Changer making clicking noises w/no CD's in it Can I reset?

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by GitEmSteveDave, Jan 30, 2020.

  1. GitEmSteveDave

    GitEmSteveDave Full Access Member

    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    51
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Location:
    Howell
    I brought my car in for a new water pump. When I got it back, instead of the "normal" soft whirring noises on startup and turning the radio on and off, I got clicking. I've never put a CD in it, so as far as I know, there were none in the changer. I decided to try to put a cd in to see if that might clear the clicking, but I can not push a CD in. I also tried holding the load/eject button in case maybe that did something. Is there a way to "reset" the radio? The radio works fine, and that's all I listen to, but the clicking is driving me crazy because it sounds like it's destroying itself from the inside.

    I've tried disconnecting the battery and touching terminals for a few minutes, but that didn't seem to do anything.
     
  2. HoosierJeeper

    HoosierJeeper Gold Supporter/Admin Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    20,697
    Likes Received:
    73
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Location:
    Western WI
    That's what my headunit did when it died. Ended up replacing it. It's the CD player that makes the noise - you might be able to take the headunit out and disconnect the CD player.
     
  3. GitEmSteveDave

    GitEmSteveDave Full Access Member

    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    51
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Location:
    Howell
    Of course it waited till it was at the mechanics to do it....

    Can I just get a junkyard changer and swap them? With the Renegade's chromed accent panel, it's not "simple" to use a double din kit, as they only seem to come in black.

    Will I need some stupid code from the dealer to make it work if I do a swap? I know some makers do that to combat theft.
     
  4. Phuc Nguyen

    Phuc Nguyen New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2019
    I put up with this issue for a few years until had enough with the annoying sound everytime the ignition is turned on, and decide to work on the issue.
    This annoying sound is due to small plastic gear inside CD player is broken/missing teeth.
    There is a replacement CD player unit only available on eBay for $35. You need to remove your entire CD/radio unit, unsoldered a few points and soldered a new unit in.
    Voila... your CD/radio unit is working as new.
    Note: you need to look at your unit face plate for a model letter, i.e. like RBQ or RAQ, or some letter like that.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2020
  5. GitEmSteveDave

    GitEmSteveDave Full Access Member

    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    51
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Location:
    Howell
    I only listen to terrestrial radio, so I really don't need the player to actually work. I learned to deal with the whirring it did/does, but like you said, the grinding is just way worse. I also turn off the radio when I'm driving, rather than turn down the volume, so I hear it a lot.
     
  6. Phuc Nguyen

    Phuc Nguyen New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2019
    You cannot bypass CD mode, due to the unit is trying to re-home.
    BTW, there is no CD mode option when the unit is not working properly.
     
  7. GitEmSteveDave

    GitEmSteveDave Full Access Member

    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    51
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Location:
    Howell
    Well, if I took it apart and removed the CD changer unit, as opposed to replacing it, would the radio still function AM/FM wise?

    Here is my radio:
     
  8. Phuc Nguyen

    Phuc Nguyen New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2019
    Yes, 6 disc CD player is a seperate unit by itself. Just de-soldered and re-soldered a few points and done, instruction came with the unit. Check this site for more information.

    https://www.ecrater.com/p/31997291/...MIw8qUlYK45wIVdh-tBh19iwiwEAQYByABEgJW-_D_BwE
     
  9. GitEmSteveDave

    GitEmSteveDave Full Access Member

    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    51
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Location:
    Howell
    So if I go and get a entire used unit, will I have to enter in some code, or have the dealer do it? I know a lot of makers put that in some of their radios as a anti-theft feature.
     
  10. Phuc Nguyen

    Phuc Nguyen New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2019
    Not necessary.