Advice: Subaru vs Jeep

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

sp0rk

Reaction score
Hopefully this doesn't start any kind of flame war, but I have a decision to make and I would enjoy some input from Jeep owners.

Currently my tried and true '86 dodge ram van is waining in strength and Agility. It's my first car, and I'm sad to see it go, but with repair costs and gas prices soaring, my parents are itching to help me get a new car (see, i'm a college student, and the deal is that as long as I'm in school, they pay for one tank a week...which easily exceeds $300 a month). I've narrowed it down to a few choices:

05 Jeep Liberty Sport with the 4-cylinder, 4x4, completely stock
00-02 Subaru Outback Sport
02-04 Subaru Impreza Wagon
00-04 Subaru Forester

I would be happy with any of the subes, but the Jeep is a new choice that recently popped into my dad's head. My parents have owned two subes, both foresters, Rolled the first one and escaped completely unharmed (the right front wheel snapped on the curb as my dad was avoiding a driver who was coming into their lane on a two-lane two-way highway. If it weren't for the curb, the sube probably would have held fast). Currently they're driving a 04 and loving it. So, I know what subes are all about. My only experience with a Jeep, though, is with my friend's 96 4-cylinder cherokee. His vehicle first piqued my interest. Very fun, especially now that he got the engine rebuilt and suped up.