4wd Low behavior

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bejor77

Reaction score
Hi there!

I'm new here, I've had other 4x4s on the past, but I'm new to the Jeep brand.

Yesterday I took my brand new KK (4x4 ltd automatic transmission) to the mountain, very steep climbs and everything went fine going up, but on the way down it made me nervous since there are long descents that do not require the HDC but my KK didn't hold up very well on 4wd Low and 1st, at first it tried to hold but after 2000 rpm it let the RPMs go up to 5000 and the speed around 15 mph and I had to use the brakes very often making them overheat a bit

In the past I've had other 4x4s and on the same descent they used to hold up very well on 4wd Low and 1st, automatic or manual transmissions. I'd like to know if this is normal or I have to take it to the dealer to check it out.

Thanks guys for your help.

Cheers,

Erick

bejor77

Reaction score
Sounds as if you should of kept RPM/speed a little lower

Yes, but how? the engine/transmission/transfer are not holding it, as I'm used to when I had my previous 4x4s, it gained speed faster than I wished for. Even a 2009 Ford Explorer was doing better than me as the guy didn't need to use the brakes half the times I did.

HoosierJeeper

Gold Supporter/Admin
Staff member
Administrator
Reaction score
Mine will hold at 5 MPH in 4LO/1st gear going down hill, I don't do anything but steer...

yellocoyote

Administrator
Reaction score
Depends on the pitch of the decline too... I've been in places where it will hold steady at 5 or 10 mph, and in other places around 20 mph.

bejor77

Reaction score
Depends on the pitch of the decline too... I've been in places where it will hold steady at 5 or 10 mph, and in other places around 20 mph.