Purge Solenoid replacement cost

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

hyde

KJ Supporting Member
Reaction score
Dealers said it has gone bad, wants $300 for replacing it.
I assume it is no biggie since I have been driving around with the CEL for about 8 months now, and this is the reason. He said "you might have poor mileage" if that's all it does, I am fine with it. I have not seen sudden decrease in mpg. Steady 15 jumps to 16.3 time to time.

So, is it necessary to replace it? If so how much would it cost if I buy it and have a mechanic replace it, or is it something I can replace? Guessing from the dealers quote, it should cost about $40-$50 for the part and they would charge $100 for it, and maybe $200 for 2 hrs labor.

What is your input on this?

Thanks.

jeepkj02

Full Access Member
Reaction score
TAKEN FROM THE FSM

REMOVAL
The duty cycle EVAP canister purge solenoid (DCP)
is located in the engine compartment (Fig. 2). It is
attached to a bracket located between the battery
and the Power Distribution Center (PDC). The EVAP
system test port is located near the solenoid (Fig. 2).
(1) Disconnect electrical wiring connector at solenoid.
(2) Disconnect vacuum harness at solenoid.
(3) Remove solenoid and its support bracket (pull
straight up).

INSTALLATION
(1) Slip EVAP canister purge solenoid onto its
mounting bracket.
(2) Connect vacuum harness to solenoid.
(3) Connect electrical connector to solenoid.

You must be registered for see images attach

Part Number for 2002 and 2003: 52128550AA *2004 and later is different

CLICK HERE FOR PART

Looks like a 5 minute job. You're getting ***** by your dealer!!

Last edited by a moderator:

Dave

Administrator
KJ Supporting Member
KK Supporting Member
Reaction score
Good info.