Towing s10

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

dwayner79

Reaction score
I am pulling an s10 this weekend with My '05 Liberty.

I have installed a aftermarket hitch (hidden hitch) and am going to get a wiring harness. I do not have a trailer yet, but am curious what kind of trailer to rent, and if it will have brakes.

The S-10 is a '93 weighs 2700 lbs and is (I am assuming) RWD. Any advice would be appreciated. I am not sure if I need a 7 wire or if the car trailer will just have lights. Can you put a RWD vehicle on one of those trailers where the two front tires are off the ground.

Basically, I'm a complete newbii and need some up front advice so I don't get myself in trouble. Thanks.

JeepJeepster

Full Access Member
Reaction score
If you got one of those trailers that leave two wheels on the ground, you could tow it no problem. I wouldnt think those trailers would have brakes, so leave tons of room to stop. More so if its raining. Be sure to lock out O/D.

Ive seen people tow a 2wd truck and leave the rear wheels on the ground. It was a 5speed and not an auto though. They just put the ****** in N. Not sure if that could harm anything.

K Dje Ryu

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Just put the back tires on the dolley, or disconnect the driveline. Then you don't have to worry about anything.

dwayner79

Reaction score
If you got one of those trailers that leave two wheels on the ground, you could tow it no problem. I wouldnt think those trailers would have brakes, so leave tons of room to stop. More so if its raining. Be sure to lock out O/D.

Ive seen people tow a 2wd truck and leave the rear wheels on the ground. It was a 5speed and not an auto though. They just put the ****** in N. Not sure if that could harm anything.
I got to think Neutral in an automatic and neutral in a 5 speed are similar. No?