This May be a CRAZY question...BUT I'M A NEWBIE

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

SupermanWV

Reaction score
I just purchased a 2007 Liberty Sport 4X4 which has the COMMAND-TRAC 4 wheel drive system. I know most people like their SELEC-TRAC better.

My question is...can either Liberty (Command or Selec) be lifted with good results? Which is better (Command or Selec) when offroading?

Also...if anyone has pics of their Liberty's with COMMAND-TRAC that have been lifted...please post a couple so I can see what I have to look forward to. I would like to see some pics/video of your COMMAND-TRAC in action also...if possible.

Clark (supermanwv)

Atrus

Full Access Member
Reaction score
You'll notice no difference in stance between command trac and select trac. Dimensionally, they are the same as well. In fact, if you were so inclined, you could put a S.T. case in a C.T. equipped KJ, or the other way around. Either can be lifted equally. Oonly way you'd know the difference is to look at the shifter handle to see if a full time option is present.

Command Trac has 2Hi, 4Hi(part time), N, 4Lo
Select Trac has 2Hi, 4Hi (Part Time), 4Hi(FullTime), N, 4Lo.

Full Time allows you to drive on surfaces that aren't quite slippery enough for Part Time with no binding. In fact, you can drive on dry pavement, and it won't bind the drivetrain at all.

Which is better? Matter of preference...the Command Trac case is ~15% (so I have heard), stronger than select trac.