Overheating and not reaching optimal temp

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

disneyridedoctor

Reaction score
Hello,

Im a CRD noob. I've only had mine about 3 weeks now. So far I've discovered that I get about 30 mpg and I have way more power than any only Jeep I've had. So here's my problem:

Under load, ie going up a grade in 70-100° F weather with the AC running, I look down and see my temp gauge is in the red. I shut off the AC, took it out of OD to get the water flowing faster, and eventually pulled over and doused the radiator with cool water (that brought it down). Then about 5 miles later, the cycle begins again. When I shut it off, I could easily rotate the fan by hand and I never heard it howling under load so im led to believe that the fan clutch is bad. Agree?

Next, as I descended down the very same hill that I overheated on, under no load, my temp gauge failed to even reach 1/4. Is my thermostat bad or in the failed open position? Normally, it hovers right below the half mark. This is all in 80+° F weather.

First its too hot, then its too cold. Any ideas? My 07 Wrangler no matter what the condition is always straight up at the half position. Thinking back all my vehicles in the past maintained consistent temp.

Please help before my OCD takes over!!!!

Billwill

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hello,

Im a CRD noob. I've only had mine about 3 weeks now. So far I've discovered that I get about 30 mpg and I have way more power than any only Jeep I've had. So here's my problem: