Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

aaronjp44047

Reaction score
new member, first time jeep owner!! and probably wont ever buy a jeep again lol
idk i am just having the worst time trying to work on this 2006 jeep liberty sport i have.
i am not a expert at auto mechanics but this jeep makes me feel stupid.

LibertyTC

Staff member
Reaction score
The good news is that the factory service manuals are available online to help you.
Regular maintenance items like oil & changing spark plugs is an easy task.

CheddarGau

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I would also suggest going to a wrecker and pick up the clutch fan (on the water pump) and the electric fan and shroud (if yours doesn't have heavy duty cooling). Greatly reduces the chances of ever over heating and needing a head gasket/heads machined. The clutch fan ensures that if your electric goes down you still have great cooling.

Deb'nKJ

Full Access Member
Reaction score
somewhere between London & Zunny Deb'n (England)
"Regular maintenance items like oil & changing spark plugs is an easy task." except on a KJ (3.7)!

The only thing I've had to resort to the manual to locate the oil filter - &, even then, if it hadn't been white, I'm still not sure I'd have found it. Access is so bad, it's easier with the front diff removed.

I've yet to find the spark plugs.

Tempted to mothball mine for when I'm no longer able to do my own repairs, so I can just drive it.

All that aside, note I was the 1st to urge perseverance. I hate working on mine, but it has to be done - & it is an education.

aaronjp44047

Reaction score
It's a Jeep thing. Don't worry about it too much. In awhile you'll feel so stupid you'll get another one.

What are you having troubles with?

If you have the CRD they're just that wa

The good news is that the factory service manuals are available online to help you.