HOW TO: Install an EVIC or OTIS (overhead computer)

Discussion in 'How To' started by Bennett, Dec 10, 2004.

  1. Chungungo

    Chungungo Full Access Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Location:
    Chile
    Search for a tpms post in this forum, I believe the info you look for it is there
     
  2. Chungungo

    Chungungo Full Access Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Location:
    Chile
    But you EVIC part number does not show PSI, are you sure?
     
  3. Chungungo

    Chungungo Full Access Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Location:
    Chile
    Did your temperature work?
     
  4. Mytmouse

    Mytmouse Full Access Member

    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    I did not connect it up yet - the dealer has my Liberty right now for a recall - Installing a rear hitch for free :happy107:

    I'm confused what EVIC this is then from the provided list does not match any.....,?

    I was hoping to add TPMS to my Liberty after adding the 05 Liberty EVIC that has Home link & TPMS (I thought it did - maybe not??). To just get the proper tire sensors and just use the learning magnet - that's what I was working on/ looking for what proper sensors to get, when I came across this comment, post #192 of the How to install an EVIC....
    So according to this comment, by me adding the 05 EVIC I just got that I think has TPMS, it's not just a matter of adding the tire sensors ? The Liberty would have to have this other module and three wheel well antennas?

    .
     
  5. Chungungo

    Chungungo Full Access Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Location:
    Chile
    But you EVIC part number does not show PSI, are you sure?
     
  6. Chungungo

    Chungungo Full Access Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Location:
    Chile
    Your EVIC should show PSI, here is an example
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Mytmouse

    Mytmouse Full Access Member

    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Location:
    Long Island, New York

    AH - THANK YOU !

    I missed that of the EVIC label that displays "PSI" and my second EVIC does not show it. I HAVE to pay more attention to details duh :Insane:(LOL)

    So then I don't have to worry about spending even more $$ to get the TPS to work and having to be annoyed by the warning bings and monitor of low pressure... I was more worried that this EVIC had it, so I would HAVE TO get it to work....


    ,
     
  8. Mytmouse

    Mytmouse Full Access Member

    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    Sorry I missed this post - Read out of order

     
  9. Chungungo

    Chungungo Full Access Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Location:
    Chile
    Ok good
    Let me know how did it go with your temperature, I hope it works.
    Then I could also would take a decision and maybe get my 3rd evic, but this time from a 2004 Liberty.

    As you might have seen, I have not gotten any help in the dashes "_ _" post I created to figure out if the problem can be solved with some workarounds.
     
  10. Mytmouse

    Mytmouse Full Access Member

    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    ​Ok, I just had enough time to plug in this latest EVIC ​​aaaannnd (wait for it......) everything works just the way it's supposed to - like it was there the whole time. temperature readings, doors open/closed, avg mpg, miles to empty, compass, ect..... And NO TPMS :icon_razz:

    Now I just have to CUT THE HEAD LINER....!
    What did you all use and was the easiest / precise way to cut the opening? I was thinking a Sharp Razor/carpenters knife?
    I did get a section of the headliner while I was at the junk yard when I got the EVIC and bracket, to use as a template.
    SEE PIC :
    https://photos.app.goo.gl/VkDxy4HQ8JLWh3iW6


    Sorry you haven't gotten any responses - I can't help you out other than what I've gone thru and YOU helped me out with some of the details I've missed or miss read...
    So it seems TRUE and what I missed in this HOW TO - that for 04 & up you need to get those years EVIC and OUT OF A LIBERTY NOT a GRAND CHEROKEE OR OTHER ! as an EDIT mentions in the beginning of this tread



    .
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2019
  11. Chungungo

    Chungungo Full Access Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Location:
    Chile
    Excellent, you did it!!
    And yes I used a carpenter knife just be sure to mark with a pen first, then snap in the overhead without the evic so you can check if it fits correctly.
    Myself I did not have any template so I just made a cut about 5mm inwards the overhead borders..
    For the screw I did not cut around it, so it goes thru the foam of the headliner, But you should use your template.

    When you make the cut go slow, take your time and make it with care. Dont cut in layers, cut with the knife completely thru the headliner and work it up and down in short and slow motions, in a few seconds you will feel what speed and pressure is the best for the job to be done.
    Good luck!
     
  12. Mytmouse

    Mytmouse Full Access Member

    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    Great Info - THANKS !
    I was all set to finally complete this EVIC project, when I realized when I slid the bracket I got up into the head liner - it was way too big ! It was pushing the headline down way too much. That's when I forgot and realized I got this bracket out of a GC WJ.
    The WJ GC must have much more room between the headliner and the roof.
    Pics
    https://photos.app.goo.gl/BeZtNxaK5JB7Z68n6

    I now have to find (AGAIN) another EVIC BRACKET - for a LIBERTY... I have to look back in the HOW TO for the part number again...
    This project is never ending & kicking my butt :boxed:

    Oh and I noticed the Temp reading is ( I don't know) Stuck @ 30* F ... It showed 32* when I first plugged it in (outside - that's about what it was). But when I had it in my Garage (heated about 65*F), this morning when I went to start installing the EVIC it showed 67*F fine right ! But later & through out the morning it was back to showing 30*F in the heated 65*F or so Garage -What the hell?

    .
     
  13. Chungungo

    Chungungo Full Access Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Location:
    Chile
    There is a lot in internet about the temperature, and I believe in this post or in others they talk about it.
    It is normal and you have to drive for at least 3 minutes and at a minimum speed (something like 20 mph), but all the info is there.
     
  14. Chungungo

    Chungungo Full Access Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Location:
    Chile
    By the way, if you happen to see an EVIC for a 2004 Liberty, hopefully with Homelink and TPMS as well, please, PLEASE, let me know. Unfortunately I am not there to search for it.
     
  15. Mytmouse

    Mytmouse Full Access Member

    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    I sure will keep you in mind ... I know how frustrating this can be...

    If you find a Console retainer mounting bracket, PLEASE keep me in mind too...

    Correct me if I'm wrong, from what I understand the bracket is in ALL Liberty's 02' to 04' ?
    So I can ask junk yards for ANY Liberty 02' - 04' or any Liberty that HAS an overhead display 02'-07' for this dang retainer mounting bracket


    .
     
  16. Mytmouse

    Mytmouse Full Access Member

    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    Yes I just read in the manual a bit about that.. I think they called it something like heat block....
    BTW - now with the Liberty is outside in the driveway it's reading 47*F (it got warmer out)...


    .
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2019
  17. Chungungo

    Chungungo Full Access Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Location:
    Chile
    I believe you are correct.
    A couple of months there were some brackets for liberties and they were cheap.
    I searched a little bit now but just saw for GC.
    If I see one will send you the link
     
  18. Mytmouse

    Mytmouse Full Access Member

    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    Got the Right "Liberty" retainer Bracket !

    Ok, after emailing/calling around to like 12 Junk yards - I found the Right "Liberty" retainer Bracket !
    I took pictures of both brackets side by side for comparison if anyone is interested in the differences...

    Pics
    https://photos.app.goo.gl/NAxT1xNsQeTmFecm7


    .
     
  19. Mytmouse

    Mytmouse Full Access Member

    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
  20. profdlp

    profdlp On The Ledge

    Messages:
    4,900
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Location:
    Westlake, Ohio
    ^ Very professional looking job! :favorites13: