HOW TO: Install an EVIC or OTIS (overhead computer)

Discussion in 'How To' started by Bennett, Dec 10, 2004.

  1. BluPhant

    BluPhant Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,148
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Location:
    Connecticut
    interesting-- snap a pic the retainer for us, and if you can, snap a couple pix as you go along w/ the installation -- maybe u can help make it easier for other 05 folks to do the same!

    Thanks for the update
     
  2. thx1138

    thx1138 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Location:
    Central Indiana
    kickin' myself...

    I just now got here to read posts and saw Bluphants. Oboy...I never thought about taking pix while I was doing this. You see, I was up all night with a case of insomnia and decided to go ahead and finish my little project. Sooooo..I have no pix to offer and I apologize for that. I firmly believe the retainer has always been behind the headliner on all Libbys until '05 probably due to cost cutting measures but I could be wrong about that. Basically a black plastic shell with a lot of cutouts and the proper mounting holes for the console "snap-in" brackets to attach to. It does have on the reverse side some lettering in 2 areas that reads "glue here", meaning normally you would apply Hot glue?..or some other adhesive to it to mount it to the underside of the roof! Sounded like it might get too messy for me, so I cut some 3M "redline tape" and applied it to the "glue" areas. Once I got the retainer behind the headliner, it was just a matter of centering it and pressing it on. Then cutting along the inside contour of the retainer with my trusty swiss army knife to enlarge the headliner hole, (checking every so often with a test fit of the console so I didn't overcut) and finally snapping it in. The whole thing was pretty straight forward other than the scary part of cutting the headliner and the tediousness of trying to get the sunvisors re-mounted...whew! Again, I'm sorry I didn't document my install. Next time I'll make sure and get some pix. ](*,)
     
  3. waldn

    waldn Full Access Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    does anyone now for sure if an 04 Grand Cherokee EVIC will give the temp. reading in an 04 KJ?
     
  4. roadrunner

    roadrunner Full Access Member

    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Location:
    Escondido
    It will not.

    An alternate way to get a temp reading is from a Gentex mirror. Many of them have outside temp and/or direction. That way you can use a variety of EVIC models and still get OAT. As a bonus, you get two displays concurrently!
     
  5. waldn

    waldn Full Access Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    thanks for the info
     
  6. GerardSchlundt

    GerardSchlundt New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    CRD

    Are the mod instructions here valid on the CRD model as well?

    I know I can 'test' it before I cut the headliner, but I'd hate to buy a part only not to be able to use it...
     
  7. roadrunner

    roadrunner Full Access Member

    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Location:
    Escondido
    Don't know. You may be the test case.

    To start with, there are at least 2 EVIC's for the 3.7 Liberty: 1) Homelink with TPMS (tire Pressure Monitoring System). and 2) Homelink/no TPMS (and possibly, 3) no Homelink). You should get the current part numbers from the dealer AND also for the CRD. See if they match.

    IF so, you know you should be able do an installation from any current Liberty. This gives you a back up option if some other EVIC (say an '03 off an GC) fails to perform.

    So far we know, a Pre-'04 Liberty and '04 and earlier GC EVIC will not display Ambient Temp on an '04 and newer Liberty**; that all '03 and newer EVICs lose the Instaneous MPG feature; but some '02 and newer models get TPMS capability. Existing literature and postings give you this info, so you just need to know the part # of your perspective purchase to see what you get. I lucked into (rare) both the Instant MPG and TPMS, but get my Ambient Temp from a Gentex auto dimming mirror.

    ** An OTIS from '04 and newer Ram or Durango will, but you lose the EVIC advantage of programability and some of the "warning" features. There's always a trade off!

    As to expense, there are at least 7 EVIC/OTIS consoles currently on e-bay that could be used in the Liberty. You should be able ro get something to use as a test unit for $30 to $40. You can upgrade later and sell the old one when you're finished. It took me 6 months and 3 units to get the one I finally wanted, but enjoyed the benefits of the others in the meantime! Just a thought.

    If you do it, keep us posted!
     
  8. garp

    garp New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Location:
    CT
    For any one interested here are a couple of pictures of the bracket that you need to install under the headliner in the 2005

    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]

    I now have all the parts assembled, and if it ever stops raining in Connecticut i will try the install.
     
  9. BluPhant

    BluPhant Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,148
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Location:
    Connecticut
    That looks exactly like the bracket that came with my '00 GC EVIC. I didnt end up using it so it's lying around somewhere.

    It stopped raining btw..... better do it before it gets colder!!!

    -Blu
     
  10. ntc09

    ntc09 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    EVIC on 05 Liberty....

    Just received my overhead console and went to remove the existing light.
    Looks like I'm going to have to fab a bracket and the lights in an 05 are just attached to the headliner. There are no receptacles for the clips.
    I'll posts some pics soon.
     
  11. Boilermaker

    Boilermaker Full Access Member

    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    ntc09,
    It would probably easier to get a retainer from the dealership than to fabricate one. That's what i ended up doing...check thx1138's post above, its part 5072348AA and i was charged $21 plus tax. It's not an expensive part and it does help out when it comes time to cut the headliner and align the evic.
     
  12. ntc09

    ntc09 New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    ordered one this morning...thanks
     
  13. thx1138

    thx1138 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Location:
    Central Indiana
    Good going...seriously..I think you woulda been hard pressed to make a retainer from scratch and make it work. This way you'll have it the easy way. Hope ya got some 3M redline tape too. O:)
     
  14. mau_rom

    mau_rom New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Location:
    Milano, Italia
    Re: goin' the expensive route...

    =D> =D> =D>

    I have the same problem: EVIC bought on eBay but no pigtail. What kind of modification did you make to the 5 volt floppy connector?
     
  15. 4wlrkiller

    4wlrkiller New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Monroe, MI
    Does anyone know what the part number for an EVIC that will go in an 05 Sport? I got one for a 99 WJ, but I don't think it is going to work. Thx
     
  16. roadrunner

    roadrunner Full Access Member

    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Location:
    Escondido
    Why do you think your old EVIC won't work? It should work fine to get you started. You can always upgrade later.

    The '05 KJ Sport didn't list an EVIC as an option, not that it matters. But the '05 Limited/Renegade used 56010520 AA/AB/AD I believe. The letter designators would probably distinguish between basic system, Homelink and TPMS/Homelink. They're all interchangable.
     
  17. dmcq

    dmcq New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Can an EVIC (or OTIS) module be installed in a '06 diesel Liberty?
     
  18. bluebel1

    bluebel1 New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Brenham, Texas
    I just got my 06 KJ diesel last week and I love it. It is a CDR sport with roof and tow package. I bought a RB1 navigation unit and had dealer install it for 90. I also bought a EVIC unit off of ebay and was going to have the dealer install it and they told me, no wiring exiist, base model BCM cannot install. Do anyone in this forum know what they are saying and how I can install. I lifted hood and it appears I have the heat sensor already installed.
     
  19. Marlon_JB2

    Marlon_JB2 Kombat Edition Jeep

    Messages:
    15,019
    Likes Received:
    45
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Location:
    Clinton Township, MI
    You *CAN* install it. Your dealership doesn't know what they are talking about. If you have keyless entry (which you do...) you have the Premium BCM, which means you can install the EVIC. You're just going to have to get your own wiring pigtail and wire it up yourself. I've done it before, it's very easy, just time consuming... gonna take you about 2 hours to complete if you take your time and be careful. The instructions on this site are perfect.

    My 2006 Liberty Diesel came with the EVIC.... but I think I'd have rather installed it myself. $400 option... OUCH!

    For future reference, the last 2 letters on a Chrysler part number represent the REVISION. AA being the first revision, AB the second, and so on.

    I also love how they charged you $90 for something that takes about a half hour. (the RB1 install)
     
  20. bluebel1

    bluebel1 New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Brenham, Texas
    What does the BCM stand for, I am not familiar with that term. I may have just missed it, becasue I read all of the information in this forum. Is there a diagram of the pigtail you are talking about. I guess I am pretty lucky, my evic has the base and all of the connectors, one to the lights and another to the module. Both connectors have about 6 inches of wires connected to them. Any suggestions as to what I do next?