Help! About to purchase a 2012 Jeep Liberty Sport

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

steve1777

Reaction score
Hello Jeep People! Newbie here an would appreciate a little help. My lease is up on my Forrester and I found a clean 2012 Jeep Liberty Sport 6 cyl
with an 92,000 miles, one owner car and clean car fax.
Asking price is $9500. Any tips on what I should be aware of and does that sound like a good price.?

Thanks for any feedback !!!!
You must be registered for see images attach

lfhoward

KJ Supporting Member
Reaction score
Looks clean! I can’t totally tell from the photo, but you’ll want to keep looking if this one has the skyslider roof on it. The skyslider is unreliable and when it breaks you could be looking at a $3000 repair (no joke). In addition, the parts for it are not made anymore so they would have to be scrounged or fabricated.

Otherwise, bring it to an independent shop during your test drive and pay them $100 to look it over before you buy. They should catch anything really bad.

steve1777

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply. No sunroof
I already have a mechanic lined up for an evaluation . It has new Kumo tires and brakes. If mechanic says okay, I'm going to show him $8500. Wish luck
Thanks again

lfhoward

KJ Supporting Member
Reaction score
Fingers crossed that it passes the mechanic test! If there are things that need fixing, you could try to negotiate them off the price.

steve1777

Reaction score
Any maintenance records to be had ?
One thing I ask for whenever I buy a used one
Thanks for the reply.. All I have is the car fax showing 16 service records at the dealership it was purchased from.

JeepLibertyKK

Reaction score

Hello Jeep People! Newbie here an would appreciate a little help. My lease is up on my Forrester and I found a clean 2012 Jeep Liberty Sport 6 cyl