Front Suspension Replacement - Learning Experience!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

crajos

Reaction score
I thought I would share my 2 cents on replacing the front suspension on my 2004 KJ, for those who have never done it before and look to tackle the project. I'm a noob when it comes to suspension work, but I got A LOT figured out while doing this project, and hopefully I can help somebody out there.

I wasn't doing a lift, just replacing the very very worn suspension with some Monroe QuickStruts. They came with their own set of installation instructions. I also have the official repair manual, with a different set of installation instructions. And, of course we have the Internet for additional reference...

Here's the quick way to do it, that I was able to do without much issue at all, after doing it the hard way on one side.

REMOVAL:
- Remove the air box, and move the cruise control module if you have one.
- Remove the battery, unplug (2 nuts) and un-mount your fuse box, and EVAP canister so they're out of the way. Then remove your battery tray (there are 3 nuts). Unplug the sensor on the bottom of the tray, and then set aside.
- Loosen, but do not remove the top mounting nuts for the suspension, 4 on each side.
- Get her up on jack stands and take the front tires off.
- Remove the bottom clevis nut and bolt.
- Remove the top clevis bolt.
- Do some maneuvering and get the clevis out.
- Remove the top mounting nuts for the shock/coil assembly, and remove.

INSTALLATION:
- Slip the shock/coil assembly in, and get the nuts on top started, but keep them loose. Let it hang.