Favorite parts/fluids for routine maintenence

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

C.W.

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Although I originally posted this list in the faq to double check myself for my first big fluids change, I thought that it might be a good idea to get everyone's favorite fluids to use and why. Information on how much to use and what general type is easy to find, but brand specifics (or favorites, if you will) is not. Please indulge. This is what I'm doing (total newb):

2005 RENEGADE (not limited slip, 6 spd manual, command-trac)

Air Filter:
AMSOIL Ea Air Filter EAA201-EA

PCV Valve
FRAM Part # FV408

Spark Plug
Autolite Ignition XP5224

Oil & Filter
Mobil 1 Truck & SUV 5W-30 /Mobil 1 Extended Performance Oil Filter

Front & Rear Axle Gear Fluid
Mobil1 Gear Oil: 75W140 Synthetic

Power Steering Fluid
Mopar Power Steering Fluid

NV231 (Command Trac) Transfer Case Fluid/Filter
Valvoline ATF +4

NSG370 Transmission Fluid (no filter)
Amsoil Synthetic Manual Synchromesh Transmission Fluid (MTF)

Brake fluid
Valvoline Synthetic Dot 3&4

Serpentine belt
Goodyear Gatorback
-------------------------
2005 LIMITED (auto, select-trac)

Air Filter
AMSOIL Ea Air Filter EAA201-EA

PCV Valve
FRAM Part # FV408

Spark Plug
Autolite Ignition XP5224

Oil & Filter
Mobil 1 Truck & SUV 5W-30 /Mobil 1 Extended Performance Oil Filter

Front & Rear Axle Gear Fluid
Mobil1 Gear Oil: 75W140 Synthetic

Power Steering Fluid

NV231 (Select Trac) Transfer Case Fluid/Filter
Valvoline ATF +4

42RLE Transmission Fluid/Filter
Valvoline ATF +4

Brake fluid
Valvoline Synthetic Dot 3&4

Serpentine belt
Goodyear Gatorback
-------------
Plus Zerex G-05 coolant, although I've asked at auto parts stores, which I cannot find and apparently it cannot be ordered. Might have to check the dealer, ugh.

tjkj2002

Full Access Member
Reaction score