Dropped Rocker Concern...

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

slipinkramer

Reaction score
I'm not new to KJs but I am new to the 3.7 liter V6. I've recently bought and done a little build up on a 2004 KJ and its running really well with 92,000 miles on the clock. It was obvious that the previous owner's maintenance was average at best.

I'm concerned about what I've read regarding the fallen valve seat/ dropped rocker issue, that seems to be somewhat common in this engine family. I've read that the problem is exacerbated when oil changes have been neglected and sludge has built up in the engine. Maybe this is hype, maybe its truth, who knows if what you read about on Google is BS or not??

Is this a concern I should have? Would Marvel Mystery Oil (or some other snake oil) added to the oil or gas be a wise precaution? Is there another measure I should consider?

Thanks

LibertyTC

Staff member
Reaction score
If you really are curious, Remove a rocker cover & actually view inside. Install new gasket.
If you have any build ups you will then know.
If it's running good at 92k chances are they probably did regular oil changes.
AS far as ...
49085[/ATTACH]"]
You must be registered for see images attach

snake oil..I would avoid engine flushes, etc as that can disturb oil galleries with gunk.
I would use a good synthetic engine oil ( as that has really good cleaners in it) and a quality oil filter like Napa Gold #1516 or mobil1 and do the first synthetic oil change at 3000 miles, and then the normal 5000 miles intervals from there.
Considering tons of these 3.7 engines were made many have gone without dropping seat/springs broke etc in other words problem free for twice the miles u have already.
Still if you are that worried you could send the heads out for a rebuild.