Clearing a Check Engine Light?

Discussion in 'KJ General Discussion' started by Scooba Steve, Apr 17, 2011.

  1. Scooba Steve

    Scooba Steve New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Besides disconnecting the battery for a given period of time.

    Is there one or multiple fuses for the PCM that can be removed to in effect clear the check engine light?

    Looked in the owner's manual, but didn't see any fuses specifically labeled for the "PCM"


    And BTW the CEL code is PO 456 small EVAP leak. Gas cap was tight. :shrug:
     
  2. LibertyTC

    LibertyTC Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    6,765
    Likes Received:
    265
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    B.C. Canada
    Good question on fuse removal/ ECM?
    I dont have the answer as most simply remove the battery cables to clear codes, or use and OBDII readers/scanners as they have become quite affordable now.
    Edit : Now off "my" memory CIRCUIT....
    If you look in your owners manual under storage:
    If I remember correctly, there is that "storage fuse" that once removed, kills all the power.
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2011
  3. 04Liberty

    04Liberty Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    MD
    I used the Superchips programmer for my Ram to do it. Even if the programmer is locked, you can use it as a code reader/resetter. As long as you don't try to load the programming (unless you have an SCT with a 3.7 program in it, like I do) it'll be fine (no problems to date).
     
  4. Dmut

    Dmut Full Access Member

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    one of xUSSR republics
    I'm using cheap OBD scanner to read and clear CEL. 30$ on ebay.
     
  5. Dave

    Dave Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Messages:
    15,590
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Location:
    on here
    The best way is with a scanner. You might as well buy one since sooner or later it will pay for itself and can be used on any OBDII compliant vehicle.

    Dave
     
  6. jake1234

    jake1234 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    NY
    I recommend a cheap OBD2 scanner. When you disconnect the battery you loose the clock, radio presets and the tranny shifts funny cause it lost its adaptive learning.

    A loose gas cap would give you a large evap leak code. I heard somewhere that a small evap leak can be as small as a pinhole, but I don't know if thats true. If you have a leak somewhere the light will just come back on the next time the Jeep goes though its evap test cycle.
     
  7. Scooba Steve

    Scooba Steve New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Thanks for the replies guys.


    Can anyone recommend a specific cheap OBD 2 scanner that can read and reset codes that is around $100?
     
  8. jake1234

    jake1234 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    NY
    Actron...their orange and I've seen them at just about every autoparts store. They make simple basic ones for under 100 to more expensive ones with features
     
  9. Dave

    Dave Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Messages:
    15,590
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Location:
    on here
    I have this one..........innova 3100 but mine might be an older model.

    http://www.bing.com/shopping/equus-...42DB99366?q=Innova+3100+Code+Reader&FORM=HURE

    It works ok actually. I have also used it on a couple of GM vehicles and the only thing it won't do is read ABS codes. It is a cheap scanner but ok for a shadetree mechanic like me. I am no pro and couldn't afford a pro scanner anyway. You could check into that one.

    Dave
     
  10. LibertyTC

    LibertyTC Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    6,765
    Likes Received:
    265
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    B.C. Canada
    Check your link Dave..
    I went with this all in one with extra gauges and such..Ryan also has one & Luke.
    http://www.auteltech.com/4in1.htm
    Looks nice inside maybe Ryan has one of his mounted beside the acc port below radio.
    [​IMG]