Can you rate these tires for me...

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

kmJeepPA

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am new to your forum. Nice to see a diverse group of people come together over a common vehicle. Just picked up my Dad's 2002 Jeep Liberty Limited yesterday with, wait for it, 28,844 miles on it, garage kept! Other than a few minor dings and the need for new rubber, and the fact that my dad smoked (a lot!) and I need to have the interior thoroughly cleaned and de-funked, it is like a nearly new car, or a 1 year off lease. Very excited. I will say this, with one day of driving it around town that I "get it"... with "it" being the Jeep thing. Cool :)

Anyway, I am new to Jeeps but the OEM tires are shot and I plan to put some rubber on that will allow me to occasionally take this beast off road where it apparently belongs. That said it will be a daily driver 98 of the time, at least for the short term.

I have read all the ratings and reviews on the Tire sites and a few off-roading forums, and there seem to be many, many good options to choose from. I figured I'd take a poll. Please rank or give me your thoughts on the following tires according to your experience with them actually on your Liberty:

Mickey Thompson Baja STZ
General Grabber AT2
BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2
Goodyear Wrangler Silent Armour
Nexen Roadian A/T ProR8
Firestone Destination A/T

PS: I am looking for the typical unobtanium, great road manners, grip, wet weather handling, snow and ice handling, and some decent off-road capabilities. Would also like lower noise floor as reasonable as well.
PSS: Think it would be cool to have a beefy, fierce off-road sort of look that has solid road capabilities.

Thanks!

PS: I know you folks have debated tires endlessly, but opinions evolve over usage as do the tires from year to year. I plan to order a set tomorrow.