3 muffler configs today

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

sootie007

Full Access Member
Reaction score
So I am new to Jeeps and the first mod I have done is changed the exhaust...today I tried 3 different setups with mufflers I had lying around....

First config 3rd cat removed from system , factory long case muffler and stock tail pipe exiting out the back stock location .....over the last 3 weeks I lived with this setup....was a tad louder than stock, barely discernable BUT netted surprising 8-13% fuel mpg increase....I know I know its illegal but it was holding the truck back, I could actually feel it (blarg) and I do 325 miles a week so I need every bit of mpg I can get .... best tank was 18.85 mpg up from 16.44 mpg originally . Front 2 cats still in place .

I had an IMCO chambered muffler lying around, medium size fully welded case ,3 chamber (FLowmaster ripoff) 2.5 " in, out, dumped with a short turndown right before the rear end ...WOW WAAAAY LOUD at startup it took me 10 seconds to decide it was waaaay to loud for me ..big time annoying burble at idle ...I didnt even cruise around to see the interior resonance ...sounded just like an over the top annoying import just like an 80's MONZA exhaust note...YUCK.

decided to see what a straight pipe sounded like...YIKES ..alot louder than I thought it would be with the 3.7 ....burbles,snarls, pops in the pipes etc when you rev it...way loud.