What does this switch do under my dash?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

BNJ-KJ

Reaction score
Newbie here. Just picked my Liberty up last week. I was messing around in the jeep tonight and found a switch under the driver side dash. Got me curious so I took off the bottom cover and saw what looked to be a lot of non factory wire splicing and a black box with no writing on it. Just wondering if anybody knows what it is. I'm thinking it may be an aftermarket security system, but I have no remotes or anything. The car was a salvage off a local lot so I didn't buy from the previous owner so I can't ask them. Any ideas?

THE SWITCH

You must be registered for see images attach

BLACK BOX

THE GRAY WIRE GOES TO A HOOD OPERATED SWITCH AND THE PURPLE WIRE TAPS INTO ONE OF THE IGNITION COILS. I'M PARTIALLY COLORBLIND BUT TO ME IT LOOKS LIKE A PURPLE AND A GRAY WIRE.

WIRE THAT TAPS INTO COIL

HOOD OPERATED SWITCH

gramifications

Full Access Member
Reaction score
That there looks like some off brand alarm with a ignition kill switch and hood tamper trigger. Good luck finding a remote to go with it unless you can find a company marking on it...

Corwyyn

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Some kind of kill switch? I know a lot of the TJ/YJ people around here install switches inline on the ignition so that it's harder for soemone to drive off with their Jeeps, maybe the previous owner lived in a less-than-desirable location?

And yeah, the wires are gray and purple.

Griemster1

Full Access Member
Reaction score
It's a remote start system and that is a safty switch so when you working under the hood your supposed to turn the switch off so the system doesn't accidently try to start.

AbsoluteRenegade

Full Access Member
Reaction score