U-Haul Trailer

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

hueyflyer

Reaction score
HI fellow KJ lovers. I am planning an approx 1000 mile from upstate NY to Middle Tennessee household move early next month and am looking for experinces with U-Haul trailers. My Jeep does not have any towing package.

Considerations are:

5 X 8 trailer.....empty wt 900, max load 1800

6 X 10 empty 1250 max load 1550

6 X 12 empty 1800 max load 2600

Any experinces would be appreciated.

Atrus

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I did the 5x8 for about 350 miles or so....I have the towing package, but the Jeep really did well. I am not an experienced "tower", but my parents always had a 24' travel trailer when I was growing up, so I have some knowledge.

I was nervous bringing it home. Empty it was jumping around and just uncomfortable to tow. Not at all like the travel trailer. Got it loaded, and there was no problem whatsoever. I did about 65mph on the e-way without batting an eye.

Prest989

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Any of those trailers will be fine. You'll probably feel the 12 foot trailer back there since its a bit longer, it might tend to wobble a bit at high speed while empty. I've pulled alot of trailers w/ mine, from a 19 foot boat, to a 6 foot lawn mower trailer to a 12 foot motorcycle trailer. Each trailer did fine, and you should have no problems w/ any of them.

_UnLiMiTeD_

Full Access Member
Reaction score
non of those come close to exceeding its towing capabilities. Though i would recommend installing a ****** cooler, just to be safe, 1000miles is quite a trip

Corwyyn

Full Access Member
Reaction score