Thinking of buying a crd

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

AJK381

Full Access Member
Reaction score
so my gf usto have a 02 sport until she needed better mpg, and i always liked it and thought they looked cool lifted ive been a jeep guy since my dad had his 87 cherokee that never got stuck. so i sold my silverado( in favor or better mpg) and i was thinking a libby cause l liked it, and its a jeep. but i do have to tow occastionally and dont like the gas mpg so i thought diesel. i found a couple in my area i guess after all that my question is what should i be looking for as far as things that may go wrong? im a mechanic but never on diesel, i know about the trans thing but what besides that is there to look for? ps the one im looking at has 55k on it and its an 05.. thanks in advance, sorry for the book.

Marlon_JB2

Kombat Edition Jeep
Reaction score
Not much to LOOK for.

The same things go wrong with dang near all of them...

EGR valves (Bypass available)
Transmission Torque Converters (Beefed up replacement available)
Filter Heads (Pretty sure someone has fixed this as well, sorry, can't remember exactly how, been a while...)

Fix those and you should have a several thousand mile Jeep.

Everything else is quite random and is a KJ-General issue.

AJK381

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Thanks for the info, I'll check it out. I've been doing slot of searching the past few days I just wanted to check for any straight fwd frond I should look for. So are these like regular diesels where mileage doesn't really matter?

bugnout

Full Access Member
Reaction score
There are a couple of issues that are correctable.