Parking Brake

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jeridmar6

Reaction score
Hello all. I have a 2005 Jeep Liberty 3.7L 4X4 Rotors all around and am about to work on the parking brakes (need a service and am not paying $200 Cdn so I am doing it myself). I consider myself a middle of the road "back yard mechanic" I am not a certified mechanic. I do my own brakes, suspension work on my Jeep and I also have a Grand Caravan that eats brakes like crazy (which is everyones complaint BTW).

I have viewed videos, saw a post on this site with photos BUT I cannot locate anything on how to adjust the parking brake cable.

I understand that the parking brakes do NOT self adjust. When replaced, the common question is, "when I replaced the parking brake shoes and retracted the star adjuster, when I pulled the brake lever, the brakes did not lock". How do I adjust that cable so when I re-install the shoes, how do I adjust the cable so when I pull the E-brake handle, there is actually a brake application? Thanks in advance for the advice. One post says the cable adjusts into the handle but I cannot find photos or vids.

KJ604

Full Access Member
Reaction score
The cable is supposed to auto adjust at the handbrake lever. There is no nut or screw to turn to adjust it.

kage860

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Each parking brake assembly has an adjustment screw that is supposed to adjust in reverse. Alternatively you can adjust the star adjuster on that screw until you feel resistance when you spin the axle,then back off the adjustment a bit so you dont drag the brakes when you drive.

HoosierJeeper

Gold Supporter/Admin
Staff member
Administrator
Reaction score