New to the board.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

forcefed44

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey guys..

I'm new to the KJ board but not new to the Jeep and Landy game. I'm looking into a KJ Liberty within the next 3 weeks and wanted to know what years and models would be good? A handful of family and friends have them and from bad (3.7 threw a rod @160K to good (Daily with 95K), all have different opinions. I want something of a lifted daily since my XJ gets rank gas mileage and my LR/RR's forget it (LOL).

I searched a buyers guide on here but I could not find anything. So my main focus is based on the KJ itself.

1. Best years? (I always stay away from the first year of anything)
2. Mileage (safe base for the 3.7)
3. any points to look out for (non maintenance wearing)
4. common problems (O/H problems, trans and T/Case, rusting)

Believe you me, My lifted XJ has put me through the wringer and back with parts replacement so I'm kin to it... I'm going to lift it max 3" due to CV driveline nd run wider A/T's but other than that.. Keep it mostly stock.

Thanks again.

Last edited:

HoosierJeeper

Gold Supporter/Admin
Staff member
Administrator
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum!

My stock XJ, LR3 and WK all get better MPG than the Liberty in town for what it's worth. Pre 06 KJs won't have the electronic stuff like ESP. 02s and early 03s had the 45RFE trans which is better than the 42RLE. Any year of KJ is fine, really.

J33Pfan

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Buyer Beware!
odometers can lie! mind did!

Check for rusty doors & frame

check trans for leaks & slip. Trans fluid must be clean!

the whole front end gone over

PS hoses & pump

AC working good

Is the oil clean?? Dirty is a problem!

Frame: rust, cracks, repairs

GOOD LUCK!

Tog

Full Access Member
Reaction score